### 2018 Alaska Ocean Leadership Awards

### Walter J. & Ermalee Hickel's Lifetime Achievement Award

\$500 cash prize

Sponsored by: Governor Walter J. and Ermalee Hickel

Awarded to an individual or institution that has made an exceptional contribution to management of Alaska's coastal and ocean resources over a period of 20 or more years.

2010 Recipient: Senator Ted Stevens and Dr. Vera Alexander

2011 Recipient: Dr. Clarence Pautzke 2012 Recipient: Caleb Pungowiyi 2013 Recipient: Clement V.Tillion 2014 Recipient: Stan Stephens 2015 Recipient: Al Burch

2016 Recipient: Captain Ed Page 2017 Recipient: Dorothy Childers

# Stewardship and Sustainability Award

Sponsored by: Jason Brune

Awarded to an industry initiative that demonstrates the highest commitment to sustainability of ocean resources.

2010 Recipient: The Marine Conservation Alliance

2011 Recipient: Shell Alaska Venture

2012 Recipient: North Pacific Fishery Management Council

2013 Recipient: Holland America Line

2014 Recipient: Pollock Conservation Cooperative Research Center 2015 Recipient: Alyeska Pipeline's Vessel of Opportunity Program

2016 Recipient: SeaShare 2017 Recipient: ConocoPhillips

#### **Marine Research Award**

\$500 cash prize

Sponsored by: Drs. Clarence Pautzke and Maureen McCrae

Awarded to a scientist, team of scientists or an institution that is acknowledged by peers to have made an original breakthrough contribution or a career spanning achievement in any field of scientific knowledge about Alaska's oceans.

2010 Recipient: Dr. Gordon Kruse

2011 Recipient: Dr. Jeremy Mathis

2012 Recipient: Jan Straley

2013 Recipient: Drs. Katrin Ilken, Brenda Konar,

Russ Hopcroft and Bodhil Bluhm

2014 Recipient: Dr. Tom Weingartner

2015 Recipient: Drs. Jacqueline Grebmeier and Lee Cooper

2016 Recipient: Gunnar Knapp 2017 Recipient: Dr. Stanley "Jeep" Rice

#### **Marine Science Outreach Award**

(Formerly Ocean Literacy and Ocean Media Awards)

\$500 cash prize

Sponsored by: Alaska Ocean Observing System

Awarded to a person, team or organization that has made an outstanding contribution to ocean literacy via formal or informal education, media or other communications about Alaska's marine ecosystems.

Ocean Literacy

2010 Recipient: Kenai Fjords Tours Marine Science Explorer Program

2011 Recipient: Elizabeth Trowbridge - CACS 2012 Recipient: Kurt Byers & Sea Grant Staff

2013 Recipient: Bonita Nelson

Ocean Media

2010 Recipient: Elizabeth Arnold

2011 Recipient: Marine Conservation Alliance

2012 Recipient: Deborah Mercy

2013 Recipient: Thomas Litwin and Lawrence Hott

Marine Science Outreach

2014 Recipient: Laurie "Poppy" Benson 2015 Recipient: Benjamin Carney 2016 Recipient: Susan Saupe 2017 Recipient: Phyllis Shoemaker

#### Hoffman-Greene Ocean Youth Award

\$500 cash prize Sponsored by: Dale Hoffman

Awarded to an individual or team of Alaskan youth ages 12-19 who has displayed a dedication to promoting the understanding and stewardship of Alaska's oceans.

2013 Recipient: Ahmaogak Sweeney

2014 Recipient: Pribilof Student Marine Research Student Team

2015 Recipient: Alisa Aist

2016 Recipient: Sofia Astaburuaga Larenas 2017 Recipient: Cade Emory Terada

# - On Occasion Ocean Ambassador Award

The Ocean Ambassador Award was created to recognize an individual or organization that has made outstanding contributions in promoting public awareness and appreciation of Alaska's oceans, coasts, and marine ecosystems.

2015 Recipient: Ray Troll

2016 Recipient: Arliss Sturgulewski