Executive Committee

Darcy Dugan – Director, Alaska OA Network; Alaska Ocean Observing System

Darcy Dugan led the development and launch of the Alaska OA Network in 2016, and is now the network’s director.  She has worked for the Alaska Ocean Observing System since 2009, collaborating with scientists and stakeholders to fill gaps in ocean monitoring and ensure ocean data and information is available for safe marine operations, environmental stewardship, and decision making.  Darcy received a bachelors degree from Stanford University in the Earth Systems program, and a Masters of Environmental Science at the Yale School of Forestry and Environmental Studies where her research focused on coastal vulnerability in western Alaska. She has also served as staff in the Alaska Legislature and as a research associate for the Institute of Social & Economic Research at UAA.


Shallin Busch – NOAA Ocean Acidification Program

Shallin Busch is an ecologist with NOAA’s Ocean Acidification Program and Northwest Fisheries Science Center (Seattle, Washington).  For the Ocean Acidification Program, Shallin staffs the Interagency Working Group on Ocean Acidification, coordinates the Program’s biological impacts research, and is the point person for the Program’s activities on the US West Coast.  Her research at the Northwest Fisheries Science Center (NWFSC) focuses on how ocean acidification may impact North Pacific ecosystems, and she uses laboratory experiments and ecosystem modeling as tools to develop understanding.  In 2012, she served on the Washington State Blue Ribbon Panel on Ocean Acidification. Shallin received an undergraduate degree in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology from Princeton University and a doctorate in Zoology from the University of Washington, and was a National Research Council postdoctoral fellow at the NWFSC.


Dorothy Childers – Alaska Marine Conservation Council

Dorothy Childers worked for Alaska Marine Conservation Council from 1995-2016 focused on programs to protect the integrity of Alaska’s marine ecosystems and to support the long-term health of ocean-dependent communities. Dorothy received a Pew Marine Fellowship for an initiative addressing the northern Bering Sea and the cultural and conservation considerations related to changing ocean conditions. She continues to be involved in community-based marine projects, including supporting efforts to engage coastal Alaskans in learning about ocean acidification. Dorothy serves as the conservation representative on the North Pacific Research Board.


Jessica Cross – NOAA Pacific Marine Environmental Lab

Jessica Cross is a research oceanographer with the NOAA Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory in Seattle, WA. Her current research focuses on carbon biogeochemistry and ocean acidification in Arctic regions, especially along the Alaskan coast. The main goal is to better understand how acidification processes interact with natural cycles, and eventually to detect impacts of acidification in marine systems. Dr. Cross conducts her research across a variety of platforms, including ship-based measurements, moorings, and mobile autonomous platforms like gliders and drones through NOAA’s Innovative Technology for Arctic Exploration Program. She also broadly participates in the Arctic research community through the Ocean Carbon Biogeochemistry Program, the Pacific Arctic Group, and the Interagency Research Policy Committee collaboration teams.


Wiley Evans – Hakai Institute

Wiley Evans manages the Hakai Institute’s Ocean Acidification Program, which operates CO2 observing assets in both Alaska and British Columbia. Wiley received MS and PhD degrees from Oregon State University, and was a member of the University of Alaska’s Ocean Acidification Research Center as a post-doc and then research scientist. During his tenure with OARC, he also worked closely with the NOAA Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory’s Carbon Program. He now maintains the Burke-o-Lator sites in Alaska and works with many groups building both community-led monitoring capacity and advancing monitoring approaches from vessels-of-opportunity including the Alaska Marine Highway Ferry System.


Davin Holen – Alaska Sea Grant

Davin Holen, a lifelong Alaskan originally from the Susitna Valley, is a Coastal Community Resilience Specialist at Alaska Sea Grant and Assistant Professor in the College of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences, University of Alaska Fairbanks (UAF).   Davin has a BA in history and MA in applied cultural anthropology from the University of Alaska Anchorage, and a Ph.D. in anthropology from UAF.  As an anthropologist, Davin has a past career researching subsistence economies among the diverse cultures and environments of Alaska from the Arctic to Southeast Alaska. At Alaska Sea Grant, Davin is honored to work directly with communities to facilitate workshops and other activities addressing coastal resilience related to monitoring, mitigation, and adaptation to climate and changes in ocean conditions.


Tom Hurst – NOAA Alaska Fisheries Science Center

Thomas Hurst is a Research Fisheries Biologist and Program Manager at the Alaska Fisheries Science Center’s Hatfield Marine Science Center in Newport, OR. Tom serves as AFSC’s representative to NOAA’s Ocean Acidification Working Group and holds an appointment in the Department of Fisheries and Wildlife at OSU. Tom’s research blends field studies and laboratory experimentation to examine the environmental ecology of early life stages of marine species. Much of this work focuses on the influence of temperature variation and the risks of ocean acidification on the physiology and ecology of fishes including behavior, habitat selection, growth energetics, and larval ecology. Tom earned a B.S. in Wildlife and Fisheries Biology from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst and an M.S. and Ph.D. at Stony Brook University examining the recruitment and ecology of overwintering Hudson River striped bass.


Amanda Kelley – University of Alaska Fairbanks

Amanda is an Assistant Professor at the University of Alaska Fairbanks in the College of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences. As an ecological physiologist, her research involves characterizing the responses of marine species to ocean acidification using experimental approaches in an effort identify species that may be susceptible to ocean change. Additionally, Amanda uses autonomous pH sensors to determine relative seawater corrosivity of nearshore habitats, areas that provide critical rearing grounds for many important Alaska marine species. For more information on Amanda‘s research, see https://kelleylabatuaf.weebly.com/research.html.


 (This group oversaw the launch of the network in 2016)

  • Darcy Dugan – OA Network Coordinator (Alaska Ocean Observing System)
  • Shallin Busch (NOAA OA Program)
  • Tina Buxbaum (AK Center for Climate Assessment & Policy)
  • Dorothy Childers (AK Marine Conservation Council)
  • Bob Foy (NOAA AFSC)
  • Gary Freitag (AK Sea Grant – Ketchikan)
  • Davin Holen (AK Sea Grant – Coastal Resiliency)
  • Jeff Hetrick (Alutiiq Pride Shellfish Hatchery)
  • Tahzay Jones (National Park Service)
  • John Kiser (AK Shellfish Growers Assoc.)
  • Michael Kohan (Alaska Seafood Marketing Institute)
  • Melissa Good (AK Sea Grant – Unalaska)
  • Mike Miller (Sitka Tribe/IPCoMM)
  • Molly McCammon (AOOS)
  • Natalie Monacci and Jeremy Mathis (UAF OA Research Center)
  • Ruth Christiansen (Alaska Bering Sea Crabbers)

Comments are closed.